Scholarships are awarded annually to outstanding undergraduate natural resource students attending University of Mary, University of Jamestown, United Tribes Technical College, Minot State University-Bottineau, North Dakota State University (NDSU), Sitting Bull College, University of North Dakota (UND), and Valley City State University. In addition, two outstanding graduate students awards (one from NDSU and one from UND) are presented each year.

Natural resource instructors at each of the universities and colleges nominate students for the scholarship awards.